Goins, Moore Honored

Madison Seniors Get Third-Team All-CAA Recognition

Posted: March 9, 2013

RICHMOND — Speaking candidly after practice one day this week, James Madison senior power forward Rayshawn Goins explained how much it would mean to him to be honored as one of the Colonial Athletic Association’s top players.

“I really want to make one of those All-CAA teams,” Goins said.

He did — by the smallest of margins. Goins, who led the Dukes with 12.9 points and 7.4 rebounds per game this season, was one of six members on the All-CAA third team, tying Drexel guard Jarvis Threatt for a share of the final spot. JMU senior point guard Devon Moore, who averaged 11.3 points and a team-best 4.8 assists per game, also made the third team.

Freshman Andre Nation, who added 8.6 points a night along with stellar defensive play, was the Dukes’ lone representative on the all-rookie team.

Head coaches, media relations directors and members of the media vote on the year-end awards.

Towson, which enjoyed the biggest turnaround in NCAA history in going 18-13 after a 1-31 mark last season, swept the Player and Coach of the Year awards. Junior forward Jerrelle Benimon won POY after registering 17.1 points and 11.2 rebounds per game in his first active season after transferring from Georgetown. Coach Pat Skerry edged Northeastern’s Bill Coen 25-19 to take the coaches’ honor for the Tigers, who are ineligible for this season’s CAA tournament or any other postseason play because of academic issues stemming from before Skerry’s arrival. Coen led the Huskies to top of the regular-season standings in the CAA, and they’ll have the top seed in the seven-team league tournament.

R.J. Hunter of Georgia State unanimously won Rookie of the Year after posting 17 points per game in a dynamic freshman season that included a 38-point outing against Old Dominion. He also made the CAA’s first team, joining Benimon, Delaware guard and league-leading scorer Devon Saddler (20.2 ppg), North Carolina-Wilmington forward Keith Rendleman and Northeastern guard Joel Smith.

Delaware forward Jamelle Haggins won Defensive Player of the Year and made the second team along with Drexel guards Damion Lee and Frantz Massenat, William & Mary guard Marcus Thornton and George Mason guard Sherrod Wright.

Joining Goins, Moore and Threatt on the third team are Northeastern swingman Quincy Ford and guard Jonathan Lee, and William & Mary forward Tim Rusthoven.

Towson guard Jerome Hairston, Old Dominion guard Keenan Palmore and Northeastern guard David Walker made the All-Rookie team along with Hunter and Nation.

The All-Defensive team includes Hagins, Benimon, Rendleman, Hofstra guard Stevie Mejia, and Georgia State forward James Vincent.
Mark Selig’s Ballot

James Madison basketball beat writer Mark Selig’s All-CAA ballot:

1st Team

 Jerrelle Benimon, F, Towson (Player of the Year)

 Sherrod Wright, G, George Mason

 Devon Saddler, G, Delaware

 R.J. Hunter, G, Georgia State

 Joel Smith, G, Northeastern

2nd Team

 Keith Rendleman, F, UNCW

 Damion Lee, G, Drexel

Jonathan Lee, G,  Northeastern

 Devon Moore, G,  James Madison

 Marcus Thornton, G, William & Mary

3rd Team

 Devonta White, G,  Georgia State

 Frantz Massenat,  G, Drexel

 Tim Rusthoven, F,  William & Mary

 Jamelle Hagins,  F, Delaware

 Jarvis Threatt, G,  Delaware

Coach of the Year

 Bill Coen, Northeastern

All-Rookie Team

G- R.J. Hunter, G, Georgia State (Rookie of the Year)

G- Andre Nation, G, James Madison

G- Jerome Hairston, G, Towson-

G- Craig Ponder, G, UNCW

G- Keenan Palmore, G, Old Dominion

All-Defensive Team

Devon Moore, G, James Madison (Defensive Player of the Year)

Jamelle Hagins, F, Delaware

Jerrelle Benimon, F, Towson

Corey Edwards, G, George Mason

Andre Nation, G, James Madison

NDN Video News