RCBL honors Hall of Fame inductees

Posted: April 11, 2012

Rockingham County Baseball League honors 14 inductees in the inaugural Hall of Fame class at an April 28 ceremony.

The event will begin at 6:30 p.m. at the Weyers Cave Community Center. Tickets for the catered meal and ceremony are $25.

The first class includes men who were founders of the league, such as “Polly” Lineweaver, Vince Reilly and Claude Michael, as well as influential players and managers, including Buck Bowman, Frank Cline, Griff Gilkerson, E.L. Knicely, Sparky Simmons, Seymour Solomon, Harry Whitmore, Lynn Meadows, Bobby Strickler and Clint Curry.

Tickets can be purchased at the Shenandoah Valley Baseball-Softball Academy at 205 S. Main St. in Bridgewater, which is open Monday through Thursday from 9 a.m.-9 p.m., by calling 828-3591 or emailing info@svb-sa.com.

Proceeds benefit the RCBL Hall of Fame Museum, which is housed in the Shenandoah Valley Baseball-Softball Academy's retail store, The Bat Company, and the academy's travel teams.



NDN Video News