Two JMU Profs Among 12 Honored By SCHEV

Posted: January 23, 2013

HARRISONBURG — The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources announced the recipients of the 2013 Outstanding Faculty Awards this morning and two professors from James Madison University are on the list.

JMU is the only school to have more than one faculty member named to this year’s roster of 12 winners.

Olga Pierrakos, an associate professor of engineering at JMU, was one of two recipients of the OFA’s “Rising Star” award. Laura Taalman, a professor of mathematics, is the other James Madison faculty member to earn a 2013 Outstanding Faculty Award.

The OFA program, which began in 1986, is administered by SCHEV and funded by a grant from the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources, which in turn is the parent company of Dominion Virginia Power. SCHEV is the commonwealth’s coordinating body for Virginia’s system of higher education. The agency provides policy guidance and budget recommendations to the governor and General Assembly

The OFAs honor faculty members for “excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration, and public service,” according to a release from SCHEV. The 12 recipients were selected from a pool of 109 applications based on accomplishments that strongly reflect the missions of their respective institutions.

The recipients will be recognized during a February 12 ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond. Each of the recipients will receive an engraved award and a $5,000 check underwritten by the Dominion Foundation,

The 12 winners of this year’s OFAs are:
Robert Bausch
Professor of English
Northern Virginia Community College
Rita Chi-Ying Chung
Professor of Counseling and Development    
George Mason University
Jasmin Darznik
Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing   
Washington and Lee University
Rising Star recipient
J. Emmett Duffy  
Professor of Marine Science
College of William and Mary
Stephen Edwards 
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Teaching with Technology recipient
Paul Hanstedt
Professor of English
Roanoke College
Erik Hewlett
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology
University of Virginia
Shiv Khanna
Professor of Physics
Virginia Commonwealth University
Olga Pierrakos
Associate Professor of Engineering
James Madison University
Rising Star recipient
Laura Taalman
Professor of Mathematics    
James Madison University
Eve Torrence
Professor of Mathematics     
Randolph-Macon College
Frances Williams 
Associate Professor of Engineering
Norfolk State University

NDN Video News