Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 09, 2019
Monday, July 08, 2019
Saturday, July 06, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019
  • 0

For three years, Abrey Atwell was known in the halls of Spotswood High School as a standout player for a Trailblazers soccer program that was one of the best in the state.

Saturday, June 29, 2019
  • 0

Dalton Jefferson stepped back and marveled at the amount of people in the stands an hour before East Rockingham played Goochland in the Virginia High School League Class 2 boys basketball semifinals at Mills Godwin High School in March.

Friday, June 28, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
  • 0

Standing under the bright lights of Virginia Commonwealth University’s Siegel Center in Richmond, there was a moment where Gracie Rogers felt nervous, she said, and wasn’t quite sure about what to expect.

Sunday, June 16, 2019
Saturday, June 15, 2019
  • 0

Standing in front a huddle of Turner Ashby players, Makayla Cyzick listened as the Virginia High School League officials announced the Knights as this year’s Class 3 runners-up.

Friday, June 14, 2019
  • 0

It took less than 30 seconds for Wayne Comer to deliver his message and send the players to the dugout to collect their bags and head off the field.

Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Sunday, June 09, 2019
  • 0

Stonewall Jackson's girls soccer team fought tooth and nail with Auburn on Saturday in the Virginia High School League Class 1 final, but ultimately came up just short of the program's first state title.

Friday, June 07, 2019
  • 0

Alan Knight called Thursday morning’s practice at Page County High School a “good practice” and said the team was headed home to prepare for an afternoon trip to Radford for Friday’s Virginia High School League Class 2 softball semifinals.

Wednesday, June 05, 2019
  • 0

Whether it’s a hard grounder turned into a double play, a leadoff hit that eventually scores or some simple advice to her teammates from the experience of facing an opposing pitcher, Turner Ashby sophomore Gracie Moyers has done it all.

Tuesday, June 04, 2019
  • 0

As the Page County players formed a circle and listened to the words of their coaches in right field, a familiar message came from assistant coach Ralph Viafora.

Sunday, June 02, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
  • 0

Makayla Cyzick played the role of Saturday morning church groundskeeper, mowing down 16 Monticello batters, giving up just one hit and mashing a no-doubt three-run homer in a 10-run second inning. It all ended with the Knights, the Valley District regular-season and tournament champions, leaving the field with an 18-0 win over Monticello.

Friday, May 24, 2019
  • 0

When the NCAA made changes to its offseason basketball recruiting policies, the goal was to lessen the influence of sneaker and apparel companies and swing the balance back toward high school programs.

Thursday, May 23, 2019
  • 0

Catherine Orndorff said she remembers meeting East Rockingham track and field coaches Lee Stover and Matt Morrow when she was just 11-years old as a fifth grader at Elkton Elementary School.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
  • 0

HARRISONBURG — As Karen Clark prepared for her third season as the Turner Ashby girls tennis coach in March, she acknowledged she was likely facing her toughest challenge yet.

Monday, May 20, 2019
Saturday, May 18, 2019
  • 0

HARRISONBURG — Bryce Suters stood up from home plate with his thighs covered in dust, took a look at the Broadway dugout and pumped his arms as his teammates burst onto the field.

Thursday, May 16, 2019
  • 0

As Stuarts Draft coach Robbie Tillman stood in right field surrounded by his four seniors with tears in his eyes, a mob of teammates jumping and screaming around East Rockingham freshman Sarah Smith drifted from home plate and into the ERHS dugout.

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
  • 0

Moments after the pitch landed well beyond the left-field fence, Bethany Martz rounded second base and came jogging toward third with a beaming grin.

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
  • 0

Standing on the course at Williamsburg Country Club waiting for the final golfers to finish up their rounds, Meade Slonaker said he let out a deep breath.

  • 0

Slumped down on the Turner Ashby bench as his teammates slowly left the field, Carlos Vazquez de Avila sat calmly with a blank stare.

Monday, May 13, 2019
  • 0

HARRISONBURG — The Valley District postseason kicks off today and while some city/county teams will enjoy a first-round bye, others will be in action with their seasons on the line.

Friday, May 10, 2019

GREENVILLE — Aidan Miller’s RBI single in the bottom of the seventh gave Riverheads a 2-1 walk-off win over Page County in Shenandoah District baseball action in Greenville on Thursday.

Wednesday, May 08, 2019
Tuesday, May 07, 2019
  • 0

As the Harrisonburg players ripped off their jerseys, settled on the bench and took in the subdued celebration taking place in front of them, Blue Streaks coach Paul Rath directed his team to begin gathering items and heading to the bus.

FAIRFAX — A two-RBI double by Brady Harju helped James Madison score three runs in the eighth inning to rally past George Mason 4-3 and give their Dukes their fourth straight victory and sixth in seven games in non-conference baseball action in Fairfax Monday.

DN-R Sports Videos

web only
  • 0

Take a look inside Mt. Crawford Creamery's operations, just one example of the dairy industry and its economic impact in the Shenandoah Valley.