Features

Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Monday, July 26, 2021
  • 0

When Nancy Coble Damon appeared as a guest on “The Spark,” a radio show hosted by Martha Woodroof, the conversation began about Damon’s career as the programs director for the Virginia Festival of the Book. But, like a skilled carpenter carving a block of wood, Woodroof quickly cut through t…

Saturday, July 24, 2021
  • 0

For those who are creative enough, life’s “happy little accidents” as Bob Ross called them — the stains, the rips, the tears, the bumps in the road — can turn into something beautiful.

Friday, July 23, 2021
Thursday, July 22, 2021

Another week has passed already since I wrote my last column. It is a nice cool morning as I sit here writing. I was invited to a coffee break at our neighbor Wilma’s house with the other neighbor ladies this morning. Samuel and Wilma moved into our community recently. I have so much to do t…

Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Last week, we looked at a few tips on how you can speed up your Windows 10 computer. This week, we will continue with that idea, which is how to get a little better speed out of your computer. If it feels like it is running a little slower than you remember from when it was new, do not worry…

  • 0

With tattoos trailing up and down her arms and a bandana on her head, Allison Wettstone, head baker, resembles Rosie the Riveter as she quickly works dough into rolls in the kitchen of Sugar and Bean Café and Baking Co."There's so much creative freedom in this business," Wettstone said. "I c…

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

I get questions regularly about how people’s computers are running slower than they were when they were new. Well, so am I. After a few years everything slows down a bit. However, with a computer you have some options to speed them up. Many times these recommendations will work and then only…

Monday, July 19, 2021
  • 0

July 14 — today our oldest son and fourth child turned 22 years old. How the years fly by. Happy birthday, Benjamin! I had Benjamin at home with Joe’s aunt as my midwife. Benjamin weighed only 4 pounds, 13 ounces, and was doing pretty good until he was 2 weeks old. He caught the flu and star…

Saturday, July 17, 2021
  • 0

When a Mennonite shoemaker and his family moved to Harrisonburg in 1797, they didn’t just open one the area’s first shoe shops, they started a family line that’s now believed to have over 1 million members scattered across the U.S.

Friday, July 16, 2021
Thursday, July 15, 2021
  • 0

A plume of thick, black smoke wafted into the air and a whistle sounded from a late-1800s Geiser Manufacturing Co. Peerless coal-powered steam traction engine as it did practice loops at the Bridgewater Volunteer Fire Company’s lawn party grounds Wednesday.

Monday, July 12, 2021
Friday, July 09, 2021
  • 0

After two years of silence, the 500-million-year-old rock formations of Natural Chimneys Park and Campground will light up once again with the sounds of Americana at the eighth Red Wing Roots Festival from today through Sunday.

Thursday, July 08, 2021

It has cooled down a little, but the thermometer still shows 78 degrees at 9:45 p.m. It was a warm, humid day. One thing I do appreciate is our battery-operated fans. That was something I grew up without.

Wednesday, July 07, 2021
Tuesday, July 06, 2021

So we have had COVID-19, death and illness along with many small business failures because of COVID, oil pipelines, LinkedIn, Facebook and others hacked in 2021, fights for the presidency (not unusual) along with many problems over the past months. So, guess what? Now we are getting ready fo…

Saturday, July 03, 2021
Friday, July 02, 2021
  • 0

Nature can be restorative, as I learned 28 years ago after my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer and I brought her to my home to care for her. It was a heartbreaking time.

Thursday, July 01, 2021
  • 0

The Arts Council of the Valley announced the lineup of First Friday events taking place on July 2. In addition to receptions at Oasis Fine Art and Craft, the Smith House Galleries and the Wilson Downtown Galleries, a virtual exhibit hosted by the Virginia Quilt Museum, and a music and movie …

  • 0

When my father granted me, at age 16, the privilege of driving his car, it was expected that I was responsible enough to bring that blue Ford Torino home in the condition it left. I was not to drive drunk or recklessly, nor let my friends drive it.

  • 0

The Arts Council of the Valley announced the Smith House Galleries will be opening two exhibitions on Friday entitled "Hilos en Común (Common Threads)" and "The Keepers of Secret Selves: Photography as a Counter-Narrative to Ageism." There will be an opening reception for the exhibits at the…

Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021

I am not psychic, a paranormalist or any type of futurist. To show you how well I do at predicting the future, here are a couple of examples. I once owned a Ford Pinto and thought it was a superb car, then a Chevy Chevette (both failures in the public eye). When videotapes were the “big thin…

Friday, June 25, 2021
Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Friday, June 18, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021

Our work night at daughter Susan’s house last week proved to be a success. The majority of our church showed up to help with whatever needed to be done. Some fences were put up, flower beds were made, weeding and trimming were done, and the barn was cleaned. Then the ladies washed walls and …

Wednesday, June 16, 2021
  • 0

Eva Didot, founder and owner of Crepes Didot, has farmers market customers and festivalgoers alike saying "ooh la la" to the local stand’s simple and straightforward menu of sweet and savory crepes.

Saturday, June 12, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
  • 0

Soon, the sights of flying bread at the "Rocky Horror Picture Show," funky local bands at MACROCK, theatrical performances by Valley Playhouse and edgy documentaries at the Hispanic Film Festival will have a home once again.

Wednesday, June 09, 2021
Saturday, June 05, 2021