Features

Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Another year has snuck up on me again. January 2022 is here and getting ready to exit. The clock is always ticking and we are stuck with the rhythm. So, as usual this time of year I will review all the sites I mentioned last year. If you see something below of interest, check it out. If not,…

Saturday, January 15, 2022
Friday, January 14, 2022
  • 0

We hear much these days about “deconversion,” Christians who are leaving not only the church but their faith.

Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Saturday, January 08, 2022
Friday, January 07, 2022
  • 0

In the morning, the glowing candles emanate warmth and comfort.

Wednesday, January 05, 2022
Tuesday, January 04, 2022

I am often asked how I learned computers, why I write, how long I have written these columns for the Daily News-Record, and how did I get to do the radio show on WSVA? So, for the first of my 2022 articles, let us review something I believe is boring, but you asked, a lot.

Friday, December 31, 2021
Thursday, December 30, 2021
Tuesday, December 28, 2021

Back during the first part of October this year, I made a statement that I stood by until two weeks ago. Do you remember when Windows 11 was made available to the public? It was on October 5, 2021. Well, I do, and I said that I would wait for four or five months before trying it out. As alwa…

Friday, December 24, 2021
  • 0

While libraries were closed down in 2020 due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the use of e-books surged across the country, and the Harrisonburg area was no exception. The trend has continued in 2021, according to Susan Versen, head of adult collections for Massanutten Regional Library. 

Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Tuesday, December 21, 2021

Last week we looked at several features in Google Chrome that you may have not known it could do. One of features was how you can share webpages you are visiting, with other people. Yes, some of you also wrote to me laughing about the dinosaur game. Not about how goofy it is, as I would have…

Saturday, December 18, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021

This week we will look at a couple of “secret” tricks you can do with the Google Chrome browser. According to Global Share Statcounter (gs.statcounter.com) Chrome remains in the No. 1 position as the most popular browser, with a 64% market share worldwide. It is followed by Safari with 19%, …

Saturday, December 11, 2021
  • 0

WINCHESTER — After missing a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Evans Home Doll Auction is making a comeback.

Friday, December 10, 2021
Wednesday, December 08, 2021
Tuesday, December 07, 2021

Last week I mentioned a link to downforeveryoneorjustme.com. I received several emails thanking me, as that is what those readers have actually wondered. I hope others will check it out and find out how helpful it can be.

Saturday, December 04, 2021
  • 0

The glittering tinsel that we call “icicles” was first made and sold in Nuremberg, Germany, in 1878. Thin strips of silver foil were designed to “drip” like icicles from decorated Christmas trees. Americans immediately fell in love with this novelty, which was still a popular holiday decorat…

Friday, December 03, 2021
Wednesday, December 01, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Last week we looked at how to “Flag” the Google Chrome browser and I told you this week we would have some more Chrome tips. Also, thanks to several of you who emailed thanking me for those flags and a couple of you added some that you use and enjoy.

Saturday, November 27, 2021
Friday, November 26, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Today we are going to look at flags, Google Flags, to be specific. I thought I had written about this before, but I missed it. These have been around, in some form, for years and are useful if Google Chrome is your default browser. Depending on when, in the future, you are reading this, thes…

Friday, November 19, 2021

“U.S. Overdose Deaths Topped 100,000 in One Year,” is one of today’s headlines.

Thursday, November 18, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021

I hate to repeat myself, but today I will. I wrote an article about this same application approximately 10 years ago. The reason I am writing about it again is the number of questions I get about it, along with learning new features it has, from other users. First, for any of this to work fo…

Saturday, November 13, 2021
Friday, November 12, 2021

Have you ever carefully packed for a trip and then when you got there and saw what was in your suitcase wondered, “What was I thinking?”

Thursday, November 11, 2021