• 0

James Madison University’s Forbes Center for the Performing Arts is lighting the bell tower cupola in amber at 5:30 p.m. tonight and ringing the bell 50 times to memorialize the 50 people who have died from COVID-19 in Harrisonburg. Read more

Monday, January 18, 2021

If you have an event you'd like to list on the site, submit it now!

Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • 0

It was a sunny August morning, and she had plans to go hiking. But cruelly and without warning, Angela Carter found herself instead inside the hospital room holding her mother’s hand. Read more

Tuesday, January 12, 2021
  • 0

Hands steady as a surgeon’s, Pam Shank guides her tweezers to pick up a delicate staircase of log slices. Fitting the natural pathway onto a stone, what once was a simple glass globe filled with layers of dirt and moss suddenly transforms into a sanctuary fit for a fairy. Read more

Thursday, December 03, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Saturday, November 28, 2020
  • 0

As a daughter in a traveling military family, Nancy Steller called the world her home and completed high school in Copenhagen, where she met her now-husband, Frank. The two lived in Denmark and Sweden before eventually moving to the U.S. in 1982, but they never stopped traveling and admiring… Read more

Friday, November 20, 2020
  • 0

During the height of activism for Black Lives Matter over the summer, James Madison University’s Spirit Rock was defaced. Once a painted homage reading “Black Lives Matter,” the word “Black” was torn from the structure, limp shreds of paint scattered across the grass. Read more

Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
  • 0

Each year, Explore More Discovery Museum closes for one night to transform the children’s exhibits into a chic gala event to highlight its yearly accomplishments and raise funds for future opportunities. Read more

Thursday, November 12, 2020