Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020

SPOTSWOOD (49) — Bennington-Horton 3 0-0 8, Freeze 2 0-1 4, Weaver 0 1-2 1, Branner 1 2-2 5, Khalil 0 0-0 0, Forloines 4 0-3 8, Ouderkirk 10 3-4 23. Totals 20 6-12 49.

  • 0

Stephanie Ouderkirk slowly turned around with a sheepish grin, staring at the Spotswood bench as they emptied onto the floor with congratulatory hugs.

Thursday, January 09, 2020

ROCKBRIDGE COUNTY (35) — Lewis 0 1-2 1, Doyle 0 0-0 0, Lynch 4 2-4 12, Poindexter 1 0-0 2, Hundley 0 0-0, McClung 0 0-0 0, Rogers 0 0-0 0, Ray 1 0-0 3, Plogger 4 6-6 16, Higgins 0 1-2 1. Totals 10 10-14 35.

  • 0

You’d be hard-pressed to find a team that has been through as brutal of a seven-game non-district schedule as the Harrisonburg boys basketball team has had this season.

ROCKBRIDGE COUNTY (43) — Camden 1 0-0 2, Cooper 0 0-0 0, Galford 7 2-5 17, R. Hines 1 0-0 2, Manhood 2 2-2 4, M. Hines 0 0-0 0, Stores 2 0-0 6, Armstrong 4 2-4 6. Totals 17 6-11 43.

Wednesday, January 08, 2020
Tuesday, January 07, 2020
Monday, January 06, 2020
Friday, January 03, 2020

Stephanie Ouderkirk scored 17 of her game-high 19 points in the first half and added 12 rebounds as Spotswood earned a big 44-34 win over Miller School in girls basketball action at the Twila Showalter Tip-Off Classic in Penn Laird on Friday.

Wednesday, January 01, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019

SALEM - Caleb Williams had 13 points, but Broadway suffered a 73-64 non-district loss to Salem in boys basketball action at the K-Guard Holiday Classic at the Salem Civic Center on Friday.

  • 0

Through three weeks of the local girls basketball season, it’s been defending state champion Spotswood that has stood out as the area’s top team by a wide margin.

Thursday, December 26, 2019
  • 0

We’ve only seen about three weeks worth of boys basketball action in the area, but it’s already provided glimpses of what could be a very special season for city/county teams.

Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
  • 0

The impact Roger Bergey had on athletes in the Shenandoah Valley is immeasurable, according to current Harrisonburg High School boys basketball coach Don Burgess.

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Becca Shiflet and Addie Riner scored 14 points apiece as Turner Ashby remained unbeaten with a 59-44 non-district win over Staunton in girls basketball action at Paul Hatcher Gymnasium on Thursday.

  • 0

It’s safe to say East Rockingham sophomore Tyler Nickel’s 45-point performance in a 68-61 win over rival Spotswood last week was the talk of the entire Shenandoah Valley.

Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
  • 0

As a veteran coach and former player in the area, Spotswood boys basketball coach Chad Edwards has faced his fair share of talent through the years.

Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
  • 0

As one of only two seniors on the Eastern Mennonite women’s basketball roster this season, Chrissy Delawder said she knows how important her role is for the Royals.

  • 0

While many expected a big scoring number from East Rockingham sophomore Tyler Nickel in the Eagles’ season-opening win over Turner Ashby, it wasn’t needed — Nickel did still lead the way with 23 — as East Rock showed off its depth in the blowout victory.

  • 0

Long before Perry Ellis roamed Allen Fieldhouse for Kansas or Cassius Winston hit big shot after big shot for Michigan State, D’Shawn Fields strolled the halls of Harrisonburg.

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

DN-R Sports Videos