Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Monday, January 18, 2021
Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • 0

PENN LAIRD — As Rob Lovell emerged from the away locker room on the south side of the Spotswood gymnasium, the 29th-year Turner Ashby girls basketball coach couldn’t help but flash a smile as his players celebrated before him.

Tuesday, January 12, 2021
  • 0

PENN LAIRD — As Carmelo Pacheco returned to the court for his postgame media obligation with freshman Jonathan Harding following just a few steps behind, the junior guard couldn’t help but give his teammate some public affection.

Monday, January 11, 2021
Thursday, January 07, 2021
  • 0

ELKTON — It’s been less than two weeks since Rockingham County athletic teams found out they can play and were officially allowed to move to five-on-five action in practices after a lengthy offseason filled with basic shooting drills.

Wednesday, January 06, 2021
Tuesday, January 05, 2021

BROADWAY — Tyler Nickel opened the season with a 28-point outburst as East Rockingham earned a 56-50 win over Rockingham County rival Broadway in non-district boys basketball action on Tuesday night at BHS.

Monday, January 04, 2021
Friday, January 01, 2021
  • 0

Call it a local sports smorgasbord, because by the spring – if all goes according to plan – there will be enough options to satisfy any appetite.

Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • 0

Standing several feet away with his hands behind his back, Chris Dodson couldn’t help but flash a matching smile across his face as he watched current and former players look at their most recent addition to their jewelry collection.

Friday, December 18, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
  • 0

It’s a traditional practice for college coaches to have recruits come to campus, visit the facilities and take photos in their respective uniforms as a way to try to give them a vision of what it would be like to eventually play at the school.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Friday, December 11, 2020
  • 0

Sitting at a table just outside the Turner Ashby High School gym, Rob Lovell took a deep breath and paused for a moment as he tried to put together the words he would use to characterize the four seniors on this year’s roster.

Wednesday, December 09, 2020
  • 0

When Nick Jones arrived at Eastern Mennonite High School prior to the 2019-20 school year, he knew he would reclassify as a junior and play basketball for the school but his main focus was on improving his academic standing.

Tuesday, December 08, 2020
  • 0

Standing in a nearly empty Spotswood High School cafeteria just outside the gym, Chris Dodson smiled as his players walked toward the home locker room to prepare for the first practice of the 2020-21 high school basketball season.

Monday, December 07, 2020
Friday, December 04, 2020
  • 0

Just before the start of each season, as the courts are cleaned, the bleachers are pulled out on each side of the home gym and players beginning filling the locker rooms, excitement comes for coaches.

Wednesday, December 02, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
  • 0

Since the Virginia High School League was forced to cancel the Class 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 boys and girls basketball state championships in March due to COVID-19, there’s been so much uncertainty about when prep athletics will return.

Friday, November 27, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
  • 0

The Virginia High School League (VHSL), on Friday, put out a statement to clarify the number of people that can be at a game following an announcement earlier this month from Governor Ralph Northam that reduced the number of spectators from 250 to 25.

Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
  • 0

With his parents and siblings to his left and a crowd of former coaches, teammates, friends and teachers in the Broadway bleachers in front of him, Bryce Suters stood at a podium and thanked each one for the role they played.

Monday, November 09, 2020
  • 0

With the country still in the middle of its fight against the coronavirus pandemic, the plea for sports to return at the prep level in Virginia have never been higher.

Friday, November 06, 2020
Thursday, November 05, 2020

DN-R Sports Videos