Sunday, January 29, 2023
  • 0

GREENVILLE — Junior guard Avery Bradley scored 22 points to help lead Buffalo Gap to a massive 55-43 road win in Shenandoah District girls basketball action against Riverheads on Friday.

  • 0

BROADWAY — When Turner Ashby moved in front of Broadway by 15 points in the third quarter, it looked like it would be smoothing sailing to another victory for the Knights.

Saturday, January 28, 2023
Friday, January 27, 2023
Thursday, January 26, 2023
  • 1

PENN LAIRD — When Alana Taylor and Alana Fisher look in the mirror, they could admit they, in some ways, still see themselves as the baby-faced youngsters attending Spotswood girls basketball clinics as kids.

Wednesday, January 25, 2023
  • 0

6-foot-1 senior forward Zoli Khalil, a Virginia Commonwealth signee, dropped 23 points in her final regular-season home game as Spotswood picked up its seventh win in eight games with a 47-23 rout of Valley District rival Broadway on Tuesday in girls basketball action in Penn Laird.

Tuesday, January 24, 2023
  • 0

Will Booker, a 6-foot-2 junior forward, posted 20 points and eight rebounds, and Clarke County controlled the game from start to finish in an impressive 64-42 victory over East Rockingham in a massive Bull Run District boys basketball showdown in Berryville on Monday,

Monday, January 23, 2023
  • 0

PENN LAIRD — After playing for one of the nation’s premier AAU basketball programs over the summer and being exposed to high-level basketball players from across the country, Camryn Pacheco’s game naturally improved.

Sunday, January 22, 2023
  • 0

Sophomore guard Tristan Yoder, a state-qualifying distance runner, continued to emerge as one of the area’s top hoops players, dropping 14 points to help guide Broadway to a 55-49 boys basketball victory over red-hot Valley District opponent Rockbridge County on Friday at BHS.

Saturday, January 21, 2023
Friday, January 20, 2023
  • 0

FORT DEFIANCE — On a night it honored the program’s seniors, Fort Defiance put on a show, defeating Waynesboro and Staunton in a Shenandoah District three-team wrestling match at FDHS on Thursday.

Thursday, January 19, 2023
  • 0

5-foot-7 freshman wing Kayleigh Hemp continued to emerge as one of the area’s bright young talents this season, scoring a team-high 16 points as Buffalo Gap defeated Broadway 55-41 impressively in non-district girls basketball action at BHS on Wednesday.

Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Tuesday, January 17, 2023
Monday, January 16, 2023
Friday, January 13, 2023
Wednesday, January 11, 2023
Tuesday, January 10, 2023
  • 0

BROADWAY — With his team on a five-game losing streak and its top rival in town for the Valley District opener, Broadway head coach Dwight Walton said his message in the pregame was simple.

  • 0

PENN LAIRD — Earlier this season, Spotswood head coach Chad Edwards challenged sophomore forward Rayne Dean to make an effort to score, which would also help his free-throw shooting improve, too.

Monday, January 09, 2023
Sunday, January 08, 2023
Saturday, January 07, 2023
Friday, January 06, 2023
  • 0

ELKTON — East Rockingham came out of the gate fast and never looked back en route to a big 79-32 win over Luray in Bull Run District boys basketball action at home on Friday.

Thursday, January 05, 2023
  • 0

E.C. Glass used a third-quarter surge to take the lead and never looked back, avenging an overtime loss from last week at the Twila Showalter Holiday Classic with a 60-57 non-district boys basketball win over previously unbeaten Spotswood in Lynchburg on Wednesday.