Saturday, November 16, 2019
  • 0

SALEM — After embracing family members with tears streaming down their face just beyond the finish line, George Austin III put his hands above his head and let out a grin that stretched across his face and brought out dimples on both sides too big to hide.

  • 0

BERRYVILLE — The Clarke County football team has one of the best special teams weapons in the Bull Run District in senior kicker Kellan Dalton.

Friday, November 15, 2019
  • 0

Harrisonburg had a different quarterback, and even a different head coach, than the first time the Blue Streaks met William Fleming this year.

Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • 0

It’s been quite the year for city/county running backs this season and that trend continued in Week 11 with Spotswood’s Ethan Barnhart, Turner Ashby’s Grant Swinehart and East Rockingham’s Colton Dean and Trenton Morris all having big performances.

  • 2

Chris Thurman is out after nine years as head football coach at Harrisonburg High School, a school official confirmed to the Daily News-Record on Wednesday.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Saturday, November 09, 2019
Friday, November 08, 2019
  • 0

ELKTON — His quarterback’s early interception was enough for Donnie Coleman to shelve the downfield passing game.

  • 0

The last time Spotswood football went undefeated in the regular season, Dale Shifflett was a sophomore on the team, but said he remembers it just like it was yesterday.

Sage Fox slapped down 20 kills and had 30 digs as second-seeded East Rockingham survived some first-set hiccups to defeat seventh-seeded Buffalo Gap 26-28, 25-14, 25-21, 25-21 in the Region 2B volleyball quarterfinals in Elkton on Thursday.

Thursday, November 07, 2019
  • 0

Everyone knows the Shenandoah Valley Football Classic always brings some high-scoring affairs, but this year’s version of the event took it to a new level.

Wednesday, November 06, 2019
Tuesday, November 05, 2019
Monday, November 04, 2019

Sophia Brause scored in the 99th minute off an assist from Iris Rabot as No. 6 James Madison continued its postseason run with a 3-2 overtime upset of Delaware in the Colonial Athletic Association women’s soccer semifinals Sunday.

Sunday, November 03, 2019
Saturday, November 02, 2019
  • 0

Standing along the away sideline of Zane Showker Field inside of James Madison’s Bridgeforth Stadium, Rockbridge County coach Mark Poston let out a deep sigh.

Friday, November 01, 2019
  • 0

While it was a defensive battle in Penn Laird between the Valley District's top two teams with Spotswood edging Turner Ashby 14-10, Harrisonburg continued to put on a clinic offensively in a rout over Broadway and East Rockingham had its best game yet.

DN-R Sports Videos

  • 0

Fourth-grader Carina Hoffeditz is the first student at Plains Elementary School to use the new book vending machine.